Overview The Trade Adjustment Assistance (TAA) program is a federal program established by the Trade Act of 1974. The legal specifics of the Adjustment Assistance for Workers can be found under Title 19 Part 2 of the U.S. Code or Title 20 Part 617 of the Code of Federal Regulations. The law was reauthorized for an additional 6 years by President Barack Obama on June 29, 2015 as the Trade Adjustment Assistance Reauthorization Act of 2015 (TAARA 2015) Under the TAA program, qualifying trade-affected workers or groups may receive a variety of benefits and services designed to assist them with reemployment. These benefits and services can include:

  • Trade Readjustment Allowances
  • Training
  • Assistance with healthcare premium costs
  • Reemployment Trade Adjustment Assistance
  • Employment and case management services
  • Job search and relocation allowances

Program Administration  The TAA program benefits and services available to trade-affected workers are administered by states through agreements between the Secretary of Labor and each state Governor. The US Department of Labor’s Employment and Training Administration’s Office of Trade Adjustment Assistance provides program eligibility, technical assistance, and oversight.  Eligibility Criteria In general, a group of workers must have lost their jobs as a result of foreign trade activities. The determination of this must be formally certified through the petition process. The petition can be filed with the Secretary of Labor and the Governor of the State simultaneously by any of the following:

  • The group of workers;
  • The certified or recognized union; or
  • The employer of affected workers.

Sources : https://www.dol.gov/agencies/eta/tradeact